Veal Marsala

veal-marsala

Oh man, there is nothing better than tender slices of veal, drenched in a Marsala wine sauce, over pasta for dinner.

I know, so many people have ethical issues with veal, I am not one of them. I am at the top of the food chain and I am VERY happy to be there.

After flouring and browning the meat, I removed it from the pan and put it in a 250 degree oven to keep it warm. I started by browning the mushrooms.  After they were golden brown, I removed them to the same pan that held the veal. Then I added a diced onion to the pan, seasoned it with salt and pepper, and sauteed it until soft.  I added a bit of garlic, cooked it for another minute, before stirring in a bit of the flour that was left from dredging the meat.   I whisked in a bit of Marsala wine and chicken stock.   The entire thing simmered for about 20 minutes, just long enough to cook off the pasta and steam the broccoli.  Delicious dinner, the meat was unbelievably tender.  The Marsala wine added just a hint of sweetness the mushrooms rounded everything out with their earthy flavor.  YUM!

 

 

Leave a Reply

