Sloppy Joe’s

The hubby’s travel plans this week were a bit crazy.  He was supposed to be early in the day on Friday but the  airlines had other ideas.   Originally I was going to have salads with grilled salmon for him and grilled chicken for me, but not knowing for sure what time he would be getting home, I bit the bullet and went with a dinner that could simmer on the stove until he walked in the door.

sloppy-joes-with-mac-and-cheese

I picked up a two pound package of ground beef at the store along with a green pepper.  I had celery, red peppers, and carrots at home already.   I try very hard to incorporate a TON of veggies in whatever I am making.  The hubby isn’t overly fond of veggies so I tend to sneak them in to meals.  For the sloppy joes, I made sure they were half meat, half veggies.

I diced up the three peppers (two red, one green), two carrots, three stalks of celery, two onions, and six cloves of garlic.  I sauteed all of them in a pan, seasoning them with salt and pepper, then removed them to a bowl.  I added the meat and fried it until it was done.  I added the veggies back in and started building the sauce – tomato puree, Worcestershire sauce, hot sauce, ketchup, and a little brown sugar.   I let it simmer for an hour while I made the cole slaw and got started on the mac and cheese.  Originally I wasn’t going to make the mac and cheese, I have been trying so hard to stay away from carbs…but this past week has been an insanely stressful one at work, I found myself with time on my hands and a serious craving for pasta.  Sigh…..it was SOOOOOO worth the calories!  The picture above is of the hubby’s plate.  I chose to eat my sloppy joes minus the bun, I skipped the cole slaw, but I did add a generous helping of mac and cheese to my plate.  Thankfully, I only made a small batch so I don’t have to content with a huge amount leftover in the fridge, taunted me with its cheesy goodness.

2 thoughts on “Sloppy Joe’s

  1. l sure wish that you lived next door to me your left overs would really be great for me. I Love hearing about what you are making just makes me hungry. Love you and I do wish you lived closer. On Feb 27, 2017, at 4:10 AM, Pickled Sweet wrote

    > >

Leave a Reply

