Homemade Spicy Ketchup

I have made homemade ketchup before, it truly isn’t difficult, and after eating it, you will totally give up on Heinz!  I wanted to spice things up a bit so I searched the internet for some recipes.  I started with Joy the Baker’s Spicy Ketchup recipe and doctored it up a bit.

spicy ketchup

I didn’t have any allspice in my cabinet so I substituted cardamom. I added the full 1 tsp of red pepper flake that the recipe called for an added another 1/2 tsp, I increased the smoked paprika by 1/2 tsp, and added a 1/2 tsp of ground chipolte to the pot.  It gave it a nice amount of heat to balance the sweetness of the tomatoes.  Perfect condiment for a cheeseburger, hot off the grill, in the summer.

The ketchup will last for one month in the fridge so I have been adding it to all sorts of recipes.  I think the next time I made the Crock Pot Baked Beans I will use this as my ketchup.   Since I am allergic to shellfish, I haven’t tried making it into cocktail sauce but I think it would be divine with some added horseradish and Worcestershire sauce.    Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Spicy Ketchup

  1. Pingback: Cheeseburgers | Pickled Sweet

  2. Pingback: Unofficial End of Summer | Pickled Sweet

Leave a comment